Time to regroup and recover. The babies that are going have gone and the babies that are staying are settling. The boys are in with their new cagemates in a large cage and the girls will be moving into a larger cage next weekend. It’s lovely to have the babies, but the calm after it’s all over is also welcome. I’m back down to six cage groups, so only six groups to freerange every evening. It sounds a lot, but feels so relaxed not to be pushed for time. I get worn out by the babies and I think all of the rats pick up on that and suffer from my inattention and tiredness when they are out.

This year’s Summer seems to have left us along with the ratlets. The weather has turned cool and wet and Autumn feels just around the corner.

All I have to do now is turn my experience and photographs of this pair of litters into my next book.

