I bought myself a graphics pad last week. It’s not here yet, but I’ve been in anticipation mode ever since I clicked the order button. I’ve not had much chance to draw at all recently, since my daughter lost her job and moved home into the dining room where I used to sit and draw. It’s got the best natural light in the house.

At the weekend I downloaded a free version of the Sketchbook software to see how it works. It ran, as my husband put it, like a dog with no legs. My PC is just not up to it. Very disappointed. I said, “Never mind, there’s still time to cancel the order.” But no, my wonderful man spend half of Sunday designing and ordering a new PC for me. This is about to become the most expensive fifty quid graphics pad ever. But I tell you, it feels so good to be taken seriously. Thank you Mark. x

