Tags

,

caterpillar

Forty something years ago I took an after school pottery class during which I produced a caterpillar, above, and a tortoise which was broken so long ago. 50p a week on Wednesday evenings. The class lasted for two school terms, I think, before being discontinued, I really can’t remember the reason, but I remember the disappointment.

Ten or twelve years ago I was running a home business selling ratabilia – pet rat based crafts – small sculptures cast from polymer clay originals, pyrography, stickers. That was such fun, but it just didn’t earn me a living. Somehow I moved away from the making as well as the business.

For the past eight years I’ve been breeding pet rats, with the real goal being to make healthier and longer lived pet rats. That has been so much fun, but it’s so intense that it becomes a second job and uses up so much time and energy.

Now I feel the need to change focus. There are things I need to do apart from rats, and that keeping so many rats holds me back from. Having parents in their eighties with health problems really concentrates the mind on the time you have left and what you want to achieve from it.

One of the things that I’ve always promised myself is that when I have the time and money to do so, I would get back to real, fire-in-a-kiln type clay. Well, I still don’t have the money, and I still don’t really have the time, but if I pull back from the ratties a little I believe I can make the time.

Step one was the enrolment on the pottery class. That begins next week, and I imagine will cover pinch pots, coil building, all the beginning beginners stuff. That’s what I need. But what I can do in the meantime is play with the polymer clay and the air drying clay. My drawings for colouring books are serving as a significant inspiration in this, so I’ve been trying to make relief tiles. It’s getting somewhere, but not exactly there yet.

curly

